I don’t hate ETTL Im just comfortable with Manual

By junmadayagphotography

April 5, 2011

Category: Portrait, Strobist

Leave a Comment »

I just came from The Island of Boracay in Philippines last weekend for a convention.   I was planning to go around shooting local scene but instead I got a better deal.

I met a fellow photographer Carlo Cabral on the trip and on one occasion asked me to shoot a friend during sunset.   His friend,  who’s name wants to be anonymous, is a yoga practitioner and gave us a few Yoga pose.   With the stunning background, gold and red  sunset, of Boracay I was thinking should I shoot ETTL for a quick out take or Manual.   For some reason I felt more comfortable using manual.   I guess because  I have been listening to Zack Arias lecture too much on one light.     I took my Canon 7D, set the pop-up flash as a master triggering one 580 EX II (power set to 1/4) held by my friend Carlo and with just three test exposure and boom!

Hope you guys like this.

Leave a Reply

